Christ King 2009 strasbourg Champions
The Transition Year European Studies Class entered a competition run by the European Studies Institute in Armagh called “Euroscola”. The girls designed a brochure to encourage young people to vote in the upcoming European Parliament Elections in 2009. The girls won first place in the competition and won an all-expense three day trip to Strasbourg. On Thursday January 15th, a group of 23 students accompanied by Ms Frances Hurley, Ms Suzanne Kelleher and Deputy Principal, Mrs Mary O’Mahony got the train to Dublin to catch a flight to Frankfurt. Most of the day was spent travelling on trains, planes and buses and the girls were tired when we finally reached our destination in Strasbourg that evening. However, the snow that covered the ground lifted our spirits and was a nice treat! On Friday, the students spent the full day in the European Parliament together with 400 students from 17 different European Countries. The girls debated various different European issues such as Democracy, The Environment and the EU Constitution and used electronic voting within the European Parliament to air their views. Students were also given the opportunity to ask questions and make comments and two of our students expressed their concern about the recent rejection of the Lisbon Treaty by Irish citizens and what this would mean for us. Later in the day, students were divided into teams of 4, all from different European Nationalities and had to partake in a Euro-Quiz where the questions were all asked in different languages. The day ended with the European National Anthem and students from each country displaying their flags. The girls had a wonderful time on their visit to the European Parliament in Strasbourg. They learned so much about what it means to be an MEP and about European Citizenship. It was an amazing opportunity for the students and was thoroughly enjoyed by all. Thanks to the European Studies Office and all of those involved in organising the trip and the teachers who accompanied the students.